Oui, Be Our Guest

Oui, Be Our Guest

Bon Appétit. Lumière has something delicious and no, it is not the grey stuff.

The Red Rose Taverne has introduced two new desserts to welcome Halloween Time at Disneyland.

The Black Rose Dessert is a black (dark chocolate) truffle mousse with a raspberry filling, crunchy center and topped with edible glitter.

The “Enchanted Black Rose” (photo by me)

It was really soft to eat, and the dark chocolate with the raspberry was a nice combination. I am not a fan of raspberries, but I found myself enjoying each bite.

Its crunchy center helped balance out the very soft texture of the dessert, and the inside of the dessert was the most delicious, as it combined all the ingredients into one bite.

So far, it is my favorite dessert from Halloween Time. Also I am somewhat being biased since Beauty and The Beast is my favorite Disney movie, but even if it were not, I would still say it is on the top of my list.

As for appearances, it definitely reminds me of the Enchanted Rose from the movie. Overall, I would highly recommend this dessert, especially if you love dark chocolate.

The second dessert is the Pumpkin Spice Shake, a frozen blend of white chocolate and pumpkin spice with salted caramel and whipped cream.

The Pumpkin Spice Shake (photo by me)

I am going to be honest about this one because I had a feeling I was not going to like it as much. I was right.

The problem was not the flavor at all, nor was it hard to sip. The main problem I had with it was the salted caramel crumbs on top. I do not like biting on something solid when I am drinking a beverage. It was disappointing because the flavor of the shake was really good.

If I could change one thing about this dessert, it would be to definitely remove the crumbs. As I lowered the straw to drink it without crumbs, it tasted a lot better.

Pumpkin Spice Latte (Photo by Flicker user Push Doctor)

Perhaps I am being a bit harsh on the shake since the only con is the crumbs, but I want to be able to enjoy my drink without constantly chewing on something solid.

If you do not mind munching on crumbs, then I would recommend it, but if not then it would be best not to try it.

The next time I am in the mood for a pumpkin beverage, I am going to head to Starbucks instead for a Pumpkin Spice Latte (PSL). I know I am being a “basic white girl,” but if I were choose between the two, I would choose the PSL.

3 thoughts on “Oui, Be Our Guest

Leave a comment